top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePIC's Rosa

Learning how to trust

The Three Amigos are settled into their new crate. They feel safe enough to eat, drink and even play. With any new pet joining a new home, it can feel very scary, and trust is something that's built over time. How do I start showing these chickies that I am trustworthy? Hmmm, well some baby steps and a lot of patience is all you need. I started by visiting the chickies when they were not napping, and sitting by their crate talking in a calm voice. They too can be grouchy if they are woken from their nap or are not allowed to be alone to rest. Once they seemed relaxed with me in the same room as them, I would open the crate door, but still allow some distance. The next step after that, I tried to introduce my hand as a safe place. Of course it took awhile for them to not run away every time they saw my hand entering their space. So how do put my hand in? I make sure I don't put my hand in a position that makes me look like I'm about t grab them. Your hand can look scary like a claw, and came make the chickies scared. I used my finger to peck around on the floor, to show that I can peck around just like them. Great idea is it dip once finger into their water dish and then dip your finger into their food bowl. I lightly place my finger on the bottom of their crate and wait patiently. Eventually The grey chickies, who has been name Pigeon Toady was brave enough to come and eat the food off my finger. Yay what a great big step into building TRUST!!! With that wonderful accomplishment I continue to attempt to do that at least once each day. After a week, they no longer run away when I refill their food or water. They also allow me to put my hand in with running away. After two weeks They felt safe enough to stand in our hands. In the picture below is Pigeon Toady standing on Kevin's hand. Yay! Go Kevin for building his trust with the chickies. Now that trust is being built more and more each day, the chickies are getting curious.......


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page